Maharashtra's History



Maharashtra is bordered in the Arabian Sea to the west, Gujarat and the Union territory of Dadra and Nagar Haveli to the northwest, Madhya Pradesh to the north and northeast, Chhattisgarh to the east, Karnataka to the south, Telangana to the southeast and Goa to the southwest. 

The state covers an area of 307,731 km2 (118,816 sq mi) or 9.84% of the total geographical area of India. Mumbai, the capital city of the state, is India’s largest city and the financial capital of the nation. Nagpur is the second capital of the state. Marathi is the state’s official language. Maharashtra is a state in the western region of India. It is a second-most populous state after Uttar Pradesh and third largest state by area in India.


Shivji Maharaj

Maharashtra is the world’s second-most populous first-level administrative country sub-division. Were it a nation in its own right, Maharashtra would be the world’s tenth-most populous state, followed by Mexico. There are 41,000 villages and 378 urban centres in Maharashtra.

Maharashtra has 36 districts, divided into six revenue divisions for administrative purposes including Pune, Konkan, Aurangabad, Nashik, Amravati and Nagpur. Thane district is having the highest population with 12 million, followed by Mumbai Suburban and Pune with 10 million each. Below is the Maharashtra district wise population as per Census 2011 and 2020 projection. By 2011 55% is the rural population living in towns, villages and 45% is the urban population living in cities, currently there are 355 tehsils and 534 towns in this state. Total 40,959 are Inhabited Villages and 2706 are Un-Inhabited villages of the total population.